Background

Saturday, June 8, 2013

I had my moment of weakness...

I had my moment of weakness. I came home from work, famished and ate like a fat kid. I felt miserable and ashamed afterward. I let myself down. Then I lifted my head back up and gave myself credit for what I have accomplished so far. I am going to have bad days, bad moments in every aspect of my life. I forgive myself. Moving on.

On a brighter note, I had another weigh in with my fit coach. I have lost 10 lbs overall since the first of April when I hit my full term pregnancy weight, without being pregnant. I have lost 9.5 inches in 6 weeks. I am still motivated and people are starting to see a difference in my appearance. Even my husband is being unusually encouraging.


Monday, May 27, 2013

Made Week 4 my Bitch!

I am so proud of myself! I made it through week 4 successfully and am feeling more motivated than ever. I have lost about 8lbs and I'm already starting to see changes in my body. Jeans are fitting better, that is the old ones I put in the closet because I grew out of them. My belly seems less bloated looking. My attitude is better, heartburn is gone and I just feel good about me. I've been working in more exercise and outdoor activities. My garden is coming along nicely and I even helped a friend and her family plant their garden.

I simply love this new, fresh lifestyle! I have been eating so many good foods. Foods that blow fast food out of the water. I don't know why I depended on crap for so long. So sad. I could have felt awesome a long time ago.

Today I shall make grilled pork tenderloin with grilled sweet potato wedges and asparagus. Healthy, simple, NOM!

Friday, May 17, 2013

HELLO SIZE 12 JEANS!

With week 3 under my belt I decided to take a chance and try on the size 12 jeans I had lurking in my closet. They fit! They actually fit! So far I have only 4 lbs (by my scale that is), but weight ain't nothin but a number. I feel great physically, I have been maintaining a health diet and routine and I really couldn't be happier. With the exception of my current cold that is.

One thing that has been difficult in my busy schedule is working in time to exercise. One this that has helped is gardening. It's a happy mixture of me time and fitness, though I didn't really realize the fitness aspect until I was sore the next day. Have to say, I love that hurt so good feeling.

Week three is usually my breaking point. I give up, lose ambition. Not this time. Week 4 is going to be spectacular!

Friday, May 10, 2013

Week Two Down!

I really cannot express how good I feel. I have to solid weeks of sticking to the plan under my belt. I'm doing my Herbalife tea, vitamins and shake every morning. I'm packing super healthy lunch and snack and still treating my family to healthy dinners. The garden is mostly planted with the exception of collards, romaine lettuce and cucumbers.

The thing I find the strangest is I have virtually no desire to drink alcohol. It doesn't sound good. I had a glass of wine the other night and felt like poo the next morning. It was like my body was saying "Hey, no, no! Don't do that". This is a pretty big deal, because I will be honest, I was drinking every night. It wasn't a little either. I was bordering on a serious problem.

I don't feel so sad, I'm feeling better about my body, my body I'm sure is feeling better about me. Color Run is tomorrow, Mother's Day is Sunday, my one year wedding anniversary is Tuesday. I have so much to look forward to. Happy days!

Oh and that salad I had today! I simply must share.

Chopped romaine lettuce
shaved fennel
avocado chunks
toasted pine nuts
blood orange sections
drizzle with oil & vinegar dressing (mix 1/2 cup EVOO to 3 TBS vinegar for correct ratio) to taste
salt/pepper to taste

So simple yet so tasty. NOM!

Saturday, May 4, 2013

Wow!

So...I feel so much better! It's been merely a week since I changed my eating habits and started using the Herbalife products and I am beyond words at the results. No more intestinal issues, no more heartburn. I have a really good routine down. I'm full, satisfied. It's amazing. And I'm down 2lbs.

I am eating so much and so healthy. I love it. I've been trying different fresh veggie salads, even planted a garden. I call it my salsa garden, because that's what I intend to make with it. Lot of trouble for some salsa, but it will be awesome.

I have certainly been more active as well. My daughter and I have been going for more walks with the dog. I've been spending time in the yard gardening. The Color Run is next weekend and I am super pumped about doing that again.

But...even though all this is going great, I know myself. I do great for about 2-3 weeks and just stop trying. Despite good results, I just stop. This is why I got a fit coach. Yeah I'm an adult and shouldn't need a babysitter, but I'm no good on my own. It helps to feel like I'm held accountable and like I have someone cheering me on. She's excited about my success, just as much as I am. How cool is that.

So a recipe for a simple fresh salad.

Diced roma tomato
Diced avacado
small diced red onion
half diced bell pepper - any color
1 cup brocolli florettes
1/2 cup rinsed black beans
1/2 cup sweet corn
toss with 1/4 cup Italian dressing
sea salt/pepper to taste
Chill

So simple, so easy, so tasty!



Thursday, April 25, 2013

It's been a long time

So, fat kid fail. I was off to a really good start a long, long time ago. Then I just stopped. I stopped watching my portions. I stopped working out. I started drinking more beer/wine. I essentially gave up for no good reason whatsoever.

Not a single one of these things made me feel better about my self, yet, I kept doing them anyways. I quit the things that made me feel like a rock star. This makes no sense. I feel sick all the time. I get headaches, body aches, constant digestive unrest and I have probably the lowest self image I've ever had.

 Today, I went to a fitness coach. I will be honest, I was kinda scared, but I really like the idea of having someone to cheer me on and remind me of my goals.  Turns out she sells Herbal Life as well. It's kinda gimmicky, I know. Honestly though, it seems like a solid product overall. I figure, I will give it a month and see how I feel about it. It certainly isn't gonna hurt me more than I've already hurt myself.

I leave today with my Stuart Smalley self affirmation. "I'm good enough, I'm smart enough and dog gone it, people like me".


Sunday, February 12, 2012

Yes I Realize it was Suppose to be Weekly

I guess I been having so much fun losing weight I forgot to blog about it. But really, I have been doing quite well. So far I'm down a total of 12lbs. That means I'm only 18lbs away from my goal.

Even better than that, I'm going further and further each time I exercise. I started going 2K on the eliptical and 1mile on the treadmill. Now I'm up to 5K on the eliptical and 2 miles on the treadmill. I even added some upper body weight lifting today. I left the gym feeling like a rock star!

My goal for next week is to find some new recipes to try. I feel like I'm stuck in a food rut. I'm sticking to the same foods all the time. Perhaps Pintrest will help me.